Social Networking in the Classroom

This week’s assignment was to explore a new social media site.  I chose to create a Pintrest account.  This is something that I have been avoiding for a while now.  I mean sure I would browse what other people posted on Pintrest and I would bookmark it so I could go back and look at it later if I wanted, but I firmly refused to actually make an account.  I suppose it was because I had heard how much time it could take up and I already use Facebook for keeping in touch with friends and family members. Also, let’s face it I spend way too much time on Facebook as is, especially when it comes time to do an assignment I don’t want to do.

The reason I chose Pintrest over Twitter or any of the other social networking sites out there is because I had already seem some neat things on there from some of my friends.  When I began exploring it further I realized how many great teaching ideas are posted on there.  I was able to find ideas for activities for math, science, and language arts, not to mention some neat classroom management ideas.  I can share my ideas with my friends and look at ideas other educators have posted as well.  In addition I have found pins that are linked to classroom blogs, websites, and more.  I can definitely see myself spending a lot of time on here finding different ideas for my classroom.

2 thoughts on “Social Networking in the Classroom

  1. I was the same. I felt like pinterest would be too time consuming. I didn’t think of it as something that would actually benefit me as a teacher. I just thought of it as another Facebook. It’s been neat posting around it with though. There are so many cool ideas!

  2. I agree also. My initial feelings on Pinterest were that there would be TOO much out there. I do like the way it allows you to organize information. I have made a few “teacher” themed boards to collect ideas and keep them somewhat categorized.

Leave a Reply

